Timão wins four Paulistão titles in the same decade for the second time in history

With this Sunday trophy, Alvinegro gets the second decade with more Paulistão winnings in all his history

04/26/2019 17h08 Agencia Corinthians Dugout

Image: Daniel Augusto Jr/Ag. Corinthians

On Sunday 21st April, by beating Sao Paulo at the Corinthians Arena, Corinthians claimed their fourth Paulistão title since 2013. Besides expanding their advantage in the ranking of the clubs with more victories in this competition, Timão accomplished another milestone: conquering more than three state cups in the same decade for the second time in the club’s history.


Corinthians have only won more than three state cups in a decade once before, in the 1920s. During the 2010s, Corinthians have won Paulistão in 2013, 2017, 2018 and 2019.


Even if Corinthians win the Paulistão in 2020, Timão will not equal the most successful decade in their history for the state competition, as during the 1920’s they raised the cup six times in 1922, 1923, 1924, 1928, 1929 and 1930.